Mansion Pokolkolny Pereulok 4
The mansion is located in the center of the city among the historic streets which lead to the Kremlin, the State University, the Bolshoi Theater and the park Zaradye. The building has a unique view to the Small Ivanovsky Lane, an old church in Kulishki and a high-rise on the Kotelnicheskaya embankment. There is a convenient access to Maroseika, Boulevard and Garden Ring Roads. It takes 5 minutes by foot to reach Kitay-gorod Metro Station.
The mansion was built in 1863 according to the drawings of the architect Geisler and belonged to the merchant of the 1st guild Dmitry Rastaguev. In 1880, the building passed to his son Alexey, the head of the nearby Christmas church on the Strelka, who ordered the completion of the third floor. At the same time, the facade was reconstructed according to the project of the architect Karneev, who added eclectic elements on the front of the house. In 1909, the building was sold to the industrialist and businessman Kharitonenko, who allocated the first floor for shops, and the apartments on the second and third floors rented to poor guests. In Soviet times, the mansion was a hostel. Currently, the building is not an object of cultural heritage.